Home > MVP Summit 2008 > First day of the MVP summit!

First day of the MVP summit!

Pretty cool atmosphere! Well I was a bit worried about the public transportation system in Seattle, very different to what we have in India. Rodeway Inn hotel manager was kind enough to drop me back at the airport from where I was able to catch a bus to downtown seattle!

There are two busses that go to the summit venue( Washington state convention centre). Bus numbers 174 and 194. Initially I asked driver of bus number 174 whether it goes to convention centre but he told me it will take about 1 hour to get to the centre since the bus was a slow one. So he adviced me to try bus 194 which reaches the convention centre in about 15 minutes. Cool!

The coolest thing during this period was I met another MVP Dave Campbell, from Pheonix, also travelling to the same location, quite lucky!

I had a five dollar bill with me to buy a bus ticket, but bus driver refused to take money, me and Dave were surprised to hear this, no wonder dave had a fifteen dollars with him ;). The whole trip costs 1.5 dollars. So a free ride to the convention centre! 🙂

So once there after bit of searching for the centre we found it, immediately went and checked in at Sheraton after paying 75$ security money.

Lunch was pretty cool! Missed out the first three sessions, catched on later with open space sessions, pretty cool sessions… Sessions were as follows!

  1. Creating successful organizations!
    Pretty cool insights from management experts. Well what am I doing in a session like this, 😉 well you never know, you could be reading the blog of the next Mr. Bill Gates 😀
  2. You wanna be a writer!
    Well I already have a blog, I am also thinking of writing a book hence I bumped into this session and guess what met Joseph newcomer and some famous book writers!
  3. Problem solving
    Importance of asking right questions, importance of asking the right person for help in solving a problem, having respect for the problem maker 😉 ha.
  4. Welcome reception
    Get drunk ;). I don’t drink but this was a pretty decent event, I thought we’ll be seeing some fights, but none took place. 😦
    Toby Richards was there made a small speech! Well what did he say? I don’t know 😦 Too much of noise!
  5. Go eat!
    Good food, to my relief I found rice, hurray!
  6. Go sleep! 🙂

Will be back tomorrow reporting live from the summit! So till then this is Nibu for “Nibu’s programming stuff” reporting from Seattle! 😀

Some snaps!

With Karen Young, worldwide MVP lead!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

