Home > My thoughts > Increase blog hit count

Increase blog hit count

Recently a fellow blogger asked me my help on increasing blog hit count, so here are some tips from my blogging experience…

  1. Always post contents that genuinely/honestly interests you so that others will also feel interested.
  2. Be honest with what you write, don’t write to grab attention. You may succeed otherwise for a short period but on the long run you’ll lose ‘popularity’ among users. I personally don’t visit such sites so can confirm such a behavior from a user’s point of view.
  3. Use tags. I didn’t use tags for the first 7 months of my blogging and for that seven months my blog hit count combined was 7400. Now after adding tags I get hits greater than 7400 every month.
  4. Properly use images. Fill out image description and title fields. Also fill in ‘alt’ field of images. I sometime forget to do this.
  5. Visit other blogs, post comments, be friendly with other blogs.
  6. Do not frequently edit your blog entries, I’ve experienced reduction in hit count but I cannot confirm this behavior.
  7. Do not try to force increase hit count, on the long run this will turn out to be a waste of time. Just be natural and patient. Just relax and enjoy blogging.
  8. Properly categorize blog entries. Even provide sub-categories.
  9. Use a theme that is comfortable to the eyes, I run from websites that does not follow this rule.
  10. Keep blog posts to the point.
  11. Be honest, don’t plagiarize. Write what you know and leave an acknowledgment to concerned persons. I am thinking about an acknowledgment section for my blog entries.
  12. Don’t flood your blog with ads.

Above tips are from my very short blogging experience and I am still learning.

  1. June 27, 2010 at 10:30 pm

    Thank you for this straight forward information. I spent an hour this morning trying to find exactly this sort of thing and couldn’t.

  2. January 25, 2010 at 7:21 pm

    thank you.
    What u written in this is correct.For good popularity we can maintain genuine information that leads to good hit count.

  3. February 27, 2009 at 4:52 am

    Thanks Samir! Nice to see hear that it’s useful. 🙂

  4. February 26, 2009 at 8:19 pm

    This is quite and useful post, and I am sure it helps answer a multitude of questions on how to increase traffic. Keep up the good work.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

